Wednesday, March 27, 2019

EC-Council Certifications: Your Guide to Cybersecurity and Ethical Hacker Training

Of the top six most valuable companies in the world, five are rooted in technology (Facebook, Amazon, Microsoft, Google and Apple).

But the age of digital-first companies has also been accompanied by a rise in cybercrime. As organizations become increasingly reliant on technology, they’re bulking up their defenses. Gartner predicts that 60 percent of security budgets will support cyber detection and response capabilities by 2020.

As a result, cybersecurity careers are skyrocketing. The Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates information security careers will grow 28 percent over the next ten years, four times the average of other occupations.

EC-Council certifications are some of the most popular training programs preferred by organizations and individuals to actively defend against and prevent cyberattacks.

Today we’ll tackle everything you need to know about EC-Council certifications, including:

  • What is EC-Council?
  • Benefits of EC-Council certifications
  • Most popular EC-Council certifications and training courses

What is EC-Council?

The International Council of Electronic Commerce Consultants (EC-Council) is a professional organization headquartered in New Mexico. The organization supports IT professionals who manage security and IT systems.

The vendor-neutral training programs focus on a range of security topics from ethical hacking, penetration testing, incident handling and response to encryption and forensics.

EC-Council certifications provide useful training for a range of IT security careers, including:

  • Security generalist
  • Network security engineer
  • Security engineer
  • Application security specialist
  • Identity and access management engineer
  • Security architect
  • Penetration tester
  • Malware/forensics analyst
  • Incident response analyst
  • Cryptographer
  • Security auditor
  • Ethical hacker
  • Governance risk and compliance professional

Benefits of EC-Council Certifications

There are several benefits of EC-Council certifications.

  • Advancing your security career: Cybersecurity certifications are a great way to solidify your security skills and experience and demonstrate real-life proof you have the expertise to safeguard your organization.

  • Understanding the hacker mindset: Nearly every IT certification touches on some form of security training. But EC-Council certifications go a step beyond basic cybersecurity principles to train security professionals to think like hackers, so they can better defend organizations from every possible angle.

  • Using real hacking tools: With an EC-Council certification, you’ll get access to real-world hacking tools. Learning how hackers utilize various infiltration programs will allow you to secure your applications, networks and digital assets.

  • Ensuring quality assurance: Security testing is easily neglected in software and application development, especially in rapid development cycles. Ethical hacker and specialized security training are useful to incorporate security best practices into the development process and efficiently test for code vulnerabilities.

Top EC-Council Certifications

The majority of EC-Council certifications are intermediate, advanced or specialist levels.

Intermediate-Level Certifications

1. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

IT is often reactionary. Organizations focus on keeping the bad guys out and only react to threats and events as they occur. But it’s far more useful to understand how black-hat hackers think. With a hacking mindset, you can see beyond current security tools and policies to know when and where attackers might gain access to your network. 

The Certified Ethical Hacker certification is the flagship EC-Council training and one of the most well-known security certifications. 

Students learn how to test, scan, hack and secure IT systems using real-world hacking techniques.

Ethical hackers can work on their own or for organizations. They commonly work for penetration testing companies who help businesses strengthen their systems against cybercrime.

The CEH certification isn’t just for professional hackers — it’s an excellent supplemental certification for security officers, auditors, security professionals, site administrators and anyone involved in the integrity of network infrastructure.

2. EC-Council Certified Security Analyst (ECSA)

The Certified Security Analyst (ECSA) is an advanced ethical hacking training certification. It complements the CEH certification by exploring the analytical phase of ethical hacking.

The ECSA certification goes a step beyond using hacking tools and technologies and explores how to analyze the outcome.

It enables security professionals not only to understand penetration testing methodologies but to demonstrate knowing how to use and apply the knowledge.

The ECSA certification is a useful tool for security analyst careers.

Advanced EC-Council Certifications

3. Licensed Penetration Tester

The Licensed Penetration Tester certification standardizes base knowledge for penetration testing, including tools, methodologies and manual hacking techniques. It demonstrates that IT security professionals understand best practices for penetration testing and are familiar with related regulatory and organizational compliance requirements.

While undergoing the certification, students learn the LPT testing framework and perform multiple penetration tests, including SQL injection, cross-site scripting and exploiting LFI and FRI vulnerabilities in web applications.

Specialist Certifications

4. Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI)

The CHFI certification is designed for forensic security investigators. Students gain the skills to identify cyber intruders’ digital footsteps and gather the necessary evidence to prosecute. Forensic investigators may look into invasion or theft of intellectual property, violations of corporate IT usage policies and misuse of IT systems.

The CHFI certification is recommended for senior security forensics professionals — it’s geared towards system administrators, security professionals, law enforcement and military personnel.

5. Certified Secure Programmer .NET

The Certified Secure Programmer .NET certification enables programmers to develop secure applications.

The certification teaches developers how to identify common security flaws, implement countermeasures and incorporate best practices within the software development lifecycle to improve security and produce stable software.

The certification is for developers who have .NET development skills and are responsible for designing and building secure Windows and web-based applications with the .NET framework.

Step up Your Hacking and Detection Skills With EC-Council Training From New Horizons

EC-Council certifications empower organizations and individuals with cutting-edge skills to defend networks and organizations against cyber attacks. But it starts with training.

New Horizons Computer Learning Centers offer comprehensive training courses to prepare you for EC-Council certifications. From ethical hacking to forensic investigation and penetration testing, New Horizons has the resources to support you at each stage of your cybersecurity career.

Ready to begin? Check out all EC-Council training courses here.


Categories: Cybersecurity NewsNumber of views: 2950


Theme picker