Thursday, June 27, 2019

Breaking Down the Four P’s of ITIL Service Design

ITIL is the most universally accepted approach to IT service management. And one of the most important aspects of ITIL is the service design stage. Unfortunately, some organizations skip this stage altogether, choosing to jump into operations as quickly as possible. 

Instead, organizations should recognize the overall importance of service design and management. Understanding the four P’s of ITIL service design can help teams plan and design high-quality IT services and implement the ITIL framework successfully. 

In this blog, we’ll introduce the four P’s of ITIL service design to help you understand their significance to IT projects. 

What Is ITIL Service Design?

ITIL is a framework for companies to improve service delivery and align IT services with business needs. It ensures there are best practices when it comes to selecting, planning, delivering and maintaining IT services. 

The ITIL service lifecycle has five stages: service strategy, service design, service transition, service operation and continual service design. Every step is equally important to delivering high-quality IT services. However, many organizations neglect the service design phase.

The primary purpose of service design is to create a blueprint for how an organization’s IT services work alongside governing IT policies, processes and practices. Service design makes it possible to introduce new services into your existing environment seamlessly.

When a company tries to implement ITIL but ignores the service design stage, they often face challenges such as:

  • Unhappy customers
  • Feature modification requests that come up after implementation
  • Last-minute fixes to service workflows and processes
  • Unanticipated IT staff training needs 

To avoid wasting time and money on damage control, companies need to pay close attention to the service design stage. 

The 4 P’s of ITIL

Now that you know why you need to implement the service design stage, it’s necessary to understand its key principles. 

There are four factors of service design required for a successful ITIL implementation. They’re known as the four P’s of ITIL service design. 

1. People

People are fundamental to any successful IT service, from development to deployment to operation. People perform the actual processes and procedures, so any service design must consider how prepared your staff is to enact ITIL. 

Consider whether your organizational structure can support formal service management and if your team members are trained in their new responsibilities. Are they ready for ITIL as a culture? And are there any skill gaps that still require training and communication?

In addition, your IT staff needs to have a firm grasp on customer requirements and objectives. If you don’t understand what customers hope to gain from your new service, you won’t be able to satisfy their needs and will wind up wasting resources and losing opportunities.

2. Products

Products refer to the tools your staff will use to implement ITIL processes and services. Finding a balance between functionality, performance and cost is vital to designing a successful service. 

Meeting customer requirements is always a top priority. But your service needs to be supported by the appropriate applications, infrastructure, interfaces and data sources. 

If you’re designing a process, consider which monitoring, automation and support tools will streamline implementation and usage. 

3. Process

Within the “process” stage of service design, you’ll examine your company’s ability to start using a new process. It includes outlining the roles, responsibilities, management controls and tools needed to deliver on the actual processes of ITIL. 

Think about who will be the primary stakeholders of ITIL projects and who is capable of managing processes through the project lifecycle. You’ll also want to make sure all processes meet ITIL standards and best practices.  

By focusing on process during the service design phase, you guarantee that the right roles and activities will be in place when your service goes live. 

4. Partners

Modern IT teams often work with vendors, suppliers and other third-party companies to ensure they can provide the level of support and service their customers require. This “P” helps organizations inspect their potential service providers to ensure they, also, will follow the new requirements created as part of the ITIL framework.  

Once you have outlined your service requirements, you’ll need to examine your external service providers to ensure they can support your needs. You might need to update your existing support contracts, but it’s a necessary step to guarantee your service meets all expectations. 

Learn ITIL With New Horizons

Embracing the four P’s of ITIL service design is only one step in making ITIL a permanent part of your organization. 

Are you prepared to fully implement ITIL in your business? New Horizons, the world’s largest IT training company, provides expert-led ITIL 4 training for businesses and IT professionals. 

Ensure your organization is prepared to execute the ITIL framework with our expert-led courses and the most up-to-date training materials. 

Check out our ITIL 4 training and reserve your seat now


Categories: IT Career Development News, Leadership & DevelopmentNumber of views: 2264


Theme picker