New Azure Role Based Certifications



Last week at Microsoft Ignite, Microsoft announced six new tracks for job roles based certifications. Of these the primary focus was certification exams for Azure that provide technology professionals more opportunities to prove their skills as they progress in their career and grow their Azure expertise.

The new exams align to skills required in three of the Modern IT Job Roles identified by the Azure team are, Azure Administrator, Azure Developer, Azure Solutions Architect. This means each certification track introduced is based on career paths, rather than just broad coverage of Microsoft Azure features and services.

With the exponentiation adoption of Azure, we have consistently heard from developers and IT operators about the need for Azure training and certification to help ensure they have the latest and greatest information. With the rapid innovation cycle of Azure, it’s also critical to stay up to date on the latest technology and methodologies.


The Microsoft Azure Administrator will help you learn the core components of Azure allowing you to build, deploy, and manage applications on our global network of data centers with this open and flexible cloud platform. Microsoft Azure Administrator certification required IT professionals to pass two exams:

  1. AZ - 100: Microsoft Azure Infrastructure and Deployment Exam
  2. AZ - 101: Microsoft Azure Integration and Security Exam


The Microsoft Azure Developer learning path will help you acquire an in-depth knowledge of Azure that will help you out as a developer building a cloud solutions, and integrating cloud services. In order to get this certification, you need to pass:

  1. AZ-200: Microsoft Azure Developer Core Solutions Exam
  2. AZ - 201: Microsoft Azure Developer Advanced Solutions Exam

If you are a database administrator, developer, or a system administrator, the Microsoft Azure Developer learning path will help you acquire additional skills that will help you perform better at your job. It will also equip you with the skills needed to plan and deploy a multi-cloud strategy.


Master the skills needed to design solutions that run your organization on the leading cloud provider platform Azure. A Microsoft Azure Solution Architect must have expertise in Compute, Network, Storage and Security. To succeed in this role, you need to understand how to plan solutions to meet your business needs.

  1. AZ - 300: Microsoft Azure Architect Technologies Exam
  2. AZ - 301: Microsoft Azure Architect Design Exam



Up your game with a learning path tailored to today's developer and technology masterminds and designed to prepare you for industry-recognized Microsoft certifications. Start with the basics, then move to advanced methods that address real-world challenges. New Horizons' Microsoft training meets you where you are and takes you where you want to go.

Jump-start your career and demonstrate your achievements through industry-recognized Microsoft certifications. Explore allSharpen your technology skills with in-depth, on-demand training in virtual classrooms led by Microsoft Certified Trainers. Select a courseChoose from a wide range of programs designed to fit your learning needs and help you take your IT skills and your career to the next level. Contact Us for more Azure Training solutions

Learn More About Azure Training Options


The current Azure certification that have been providing the Azure focused core to the MCSA: Cloud Platform and MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure certification paths are going to be retired December 31, 2018. However, the MCSA and MCSE certifications are not being retired, but rather transformed instead.The following Azure related certification exams are going to be retired December 31, 2018. If you are studying for these exams, then you’ll want to switch gears toward the new exams, or pass them by the end of the year.

  • 70-532: Developing Microsoft Azure Solutions
  • 70-533: Implementing Microsoft Azure Solutions
  • 70-535: Architecting Microsoft Azure Solutions

As a result of retiring the above Azure focused certification exams, the existing / old MCSA and MCSE certifications based on them are also being retired. As a result, the following larger Azure focused certifications are being retired on December 31, 2018 as well.

  • MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure
  • MCSA: Linux on Azure
  • MCSA: Cloud Platform
Oct 2018

By: Morgan Landry