AWS Certified Security – Specialty

The AWS Certified Security - Specialty exam is intended for individuals who perform a security role. The exam validates a candidate’s ability to effectively demonstrate knowledge about securing the AWS platform.

This exam validates a candidate's ability to complete the following tasks:

  • An understanding of specialized data classifications and AWS data protection mechanisms
  • An understanding of data-encryption methods and AWS mechanisms to implement them
  • An understanding of secure internet protocols and AWS mechanisms to implement them
  • A working knowledge of AWS security services and features of services to provide a secure production environment
  • Competency from 2 or more years of production deployment experience in using AWS security services and features
  • The ability to make tradeoff decisions with regard to cost, security, and deployment complexity to meet a set of application requirements
  • An understanding of security operations and risks

Who Should Take This Exam?

The target candidate should have 5 years of IT security experience in designing and implementing security solutions. Additionally, the target candidate should have 2 or more years of hands-on experience in securing AWS workloads. Before you take this exam, we recommend you have the following knowledge:

  • The AWS shared responsibility model and its application
  • Security controls for workloads on AWS
  • Logging and monitoring strategies
  • Cloud security threat models
  • Patch management and security automation
  • Ways to enhance AWS security services with third-party tools and services
  • Disaster recovery controls, including BCP and backups
  • Encryption, Access control, Data retention

Steps to Achieve Your AWS Certified Security - Specialty Certification

  1. Attend Security Engineering on AWS
  2. Pass the following exams:
  • Exam SCS-C01

AWS Certified Security - Specialty: Courses

Security Engineering on AWS

This course demonstrates how to efficiently use AWS security services to stay secure in the AWS Cloud. The course focuses on the security practices that AWS recommends for enhancing the security of your data and systems in the cloud.

Enroll Now
3 Days | $2025

AWS Certified Security - Specialty: Exams

Exam SCS-C01 - The exam features a combination of two question formats: multiple choice and multiple response.

Buy Exam Voucher

Exam Guide and Practice Questions

AWS Certification Renewal

  • Certification through AWS is valid for three years from the date it was earned. Before the three-year period expires, you must recertify to keep your certification current and active.
  • To keep your certification active, you must take the current version of the exam that corresponds to your certification before it expires. AWS does not require or accept other methods of recertification, such as continuing education credits.
  • For Foundational and Associate level certifications, you can also satisfy the recertification requirement for a current certification by passing or recertifying with a higher-level role-based exam.

Learn more about the AWS recertification.